Faith

KT has always had more faith in my abilities than I ever have.  Her whole life she’s known that she has but to ask me to do something  special for her and I will do my best to make it happen.  Over the years, I’ve created some pretty fancy birthday cakes, elaborate Halloween costumes, a semi-formal dress and painted an underwater world in her room. 

I’ve often thought there wasn’t any possible way I could actually do what she had asked me to.  Yet her unwavering faith has caused me to actually try and of course, to succeed in each endeavor.   

My eldest child has, once again, cooked up a new project for me.  She wants me to make her a coat.  Yes, a coat.  I tried to explain to her that people don’t make coats, they go to the store and buy them.  She simply wouldn’t listen to my very reasonable explanation.  (You know something is wrong when I’m the one being logical!)  KT’s thoughts were that I could make her the exact coat that she wanted. 

So the search for the perfect patten and the perfect fabric began.  Fortunately for me, it took a while for KT to decide on what she wanted.  But  eventually she did.  So in the next week or so, I will magically transform these few yards of fabric into a fully lined, perfect corduroy coat for my daughter.

kts almost coat

I”m only doing this because KT has faith that I actually can…

3 Comments on “Faith”

  1. Laume says:

    I’m sure she’ll treasure it, perfect or not. The real gift though is her faith in you. It’s amazing the person we are capable of becoming for our children.

  2. cliodhna says:

    ha ha! I do exactly the same thing to my mum!
    “, I want… (insert wish item)”
    “do you have a pattern?”
    “of course not but heres a drawing!”
    “long suffering sigh, ok, but we have to find a pattern”

    she has made me some incredible stuff over the years, clothes, knitting, I still have a poncho she knit me when I was twelve with a big mexican eagle on the front!

  3. Susan says:

    Laume~Isn’t that the truth! It really is a gift. I find myself doing (and enjoying) things I never thought I’d want or could do.

    Cliodhna~That’s so neat that you still have that poncho. I wish I still had the one my mom made for me. Every year she would add on a few more rows so that it would still fit. I really did love that thing. Thanks for reminding me of it!


Leave a Reply

